Murray Fallis Prize

Shawna Semple, Univ. Waterloo

Discovering functional immune markers in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) for resistance and susceptibility against Flavobacterium psychrophilum.


Murray Fallis Prize

Jessica Willis, Univ. PEI

Detection of Cryptosporidium sp. and Giardia duodenalis in Eastern oysters (Crassostrea virginica) from Prince Edward Island, Canada D├ętection de Cryptosporidium sp. ainsi que de Giardia duodenalis chez l'huître de l'Est (Crassostrea virginica) de l'Île du Prince Edward, Canada 


Murray Fallis Prize

Laura Ferguson, Acadia Univ.

Fecundity reduction in thesecond gonotrophic cycle of the mosquito, Culex pipiens, infected with the apicomplexan blood parasite, Hepatozoon sipedon.


Murray Fallis Prize

Tanya Copley, McGill University.

New method for detecting Nosema ceranae and N. apis in European honeybees.


Murray Fallis Prize

Aaron Frennette, University of New Brunswick (Supervisor- Mike Duffy).

Employing molecular diagnostics to investigate loma morhua infections in Atlantic cod/L'emploi de diagnostiques moléculaires dans l'investigation des infections au Loma morhua chez la morue de l'atlantique.


Murray Fallis Prize

Angela-Rose Lapierre, Concordia University (Supervisors D. McLaughlin, D. Marcogliese)

Molecular characterization and evolutionary relationships of some North American species of Diorchis (Cestoda) based on partial nucleotide sequences of SSU-rDNA.


Murray Fallis Prize

Linda Paetow, Concordia University (Supervisors: D. McLaughlin, D. Marcogliese)

The fungal pathogen Batrachotrychium dendrobatidis may pose a threat to the survivorship of amphibian larvae infected with other parasites.

Murray Fallis Prize - Runner up

Richelle Monaghan, University of Waterloo (Supervisor: N. Bols)

Comparing staining methods to elucidate microsporidia in a persistently infected piscine cell line.


Murray Fallis Prize

Lorie A. Whitcombe, McGill University (Supervisor M. Olivier)

IFNgamma mediates protection against intracellular signalling alterations during infection with Leishmania.


Murray Fallis Prize

Kayla C. King, Concordia University (Supervisors: D. McLaughlin and D. Marcogliese)

Helminth parasite communities of leopard frogs (Rana pipiens) inhabiting ponds polluted by agricultural activities.
{short description of image}


Murray Fallis Prize

Pat Madrid, Institute of Parasitology, McGill University (Supervisor: A. Jardim)

Interaction of L. donovani PEX14 with the glycosomal membrane.
{short description of image}


Murray Fallis Prize

Mark D. Fast, Biology Department, Dalhousie University

Immunomodulatory compounds in the secretions of the salmon louse.


Murray Fallis Prize

Jeffrey K. L. Eng, Institute of Parasitology (Supervisor: R. Prichard)

Can the genetic polymorphism in the ß-tubulin (isotype I) gene of Onchocerca volvulus be used as a marker to identify sub-optimal response to ivermectin?
{short description of image}


Murray Fallis Prize

Alex C. Chin, University of Calgary (Supervisor: A. G. Buret)

Induction of enterocyte apoptosis by Giardia lamblia causes barrier dysfunction in duodenal epithelial monolayers.

Parasitology Section Prize

Kristine D. Scott, University of Alberta (Supervisor: M. Belosevic)

Suppression of nitric oxide production is linke to alterations in K+ channel activity in Leishmania major-infected macrophages.
{short description of image}


Murray Fallis Prize

Stacey A. Santi, Laurentian University (Supervisor: G. H. Parker)

Sinus damage by Skrjabingylus nasicola (Nematoda) and its effect on braincase capacity in the American mink (Mustela vison).
Fallis 2001


Murray Fallis Prize

Sean Forrester, Institute of Parasitology (Supervisor: Roger Prichard)

Glutamate modulates ivermectin binding to a glutamate-gated chloride channel subunit from Haemonchus contortus.
Fallis Prize recipient 2000

Sean Forrester (left) is congratulated by Section Chair, John Barta.

Poster Prize

Chris Cutler, Simon Fraser University (Supervisor: John Webster)

Entomopathogenic nematode infectivity and host-finding ability in axenic and xenic soil-root systems.


Murray Fallis Prize

Bernadette Ardelli, University of Guelph (Supervisor: P. T. K. Woo)

Energy metabolism and isozyme patterns between pathogenic and non-pathogenic strains of Cryptobia salmositica.

Poster Prize

Sean Forrester, Institute of Parasitology (Supervisor: Roger Prichard)

Cloning and expression of a novel glutamate-gated chloride channel gene in the parasitic nematode Haemonchus contortus.
{short description of image}


Murray Fallis Prize

Ramon Carreno, University of Guelph (Supervisor: Dr. J. R. Barta)

"Isosporoid coccidia: phylogenetic analysis and classification of species possessing Stieda bodies."

{short description of image}

ASP Prize

Diane Bienek, University of Alberta (Supervisor: Dr. M. Belosevic)

"Macrophage conditioned medium enhances in vitro growth of Trypanosoma danilewskyi."

Honorable Mention

Sho Shirakashi, University of Lethbridge (Supervisor: Dr. C. P. Goater)

Infection dynamics of Polymorphus paradoxus (Acanthocephala) in Gammarus lacustris collected from a prairie slough.
{short description of image}

(L-R) Sho Shirakashi, Cam Goater, Diane Bienek


Murray Fallis Prize

Sean G. Forrester; Lakehead University (Supervisor: Dr. M. W. Lankester)

"Overwinter survivorship of Parelaphostrongylus tenuis first-stage larvae."

ASP Prize

Diane R. Bienek; University of Alberta (Supervisor: Dr. M. Belosevic )

"Growth of Trypanosoma danilewskyi in medium containing fish or mammalian serum."

{short description of image}

Diane Bienek (l) and Sean Forrester (r) receive awards from Dan McLaughlin (Councillor of Section).


Murray Fallis Prize

Michael Levy; Concordia University (Supervisor: Dr. J. D. McLaughlin)

"Digenean fauna of ring-billed gulls collected along the St. Lawrence River."

ASP Prize

Ganpath B. Jagdale; Memorial University of Newfoundland (Supervisor: Dr. R. Gordon)

"Effect of temperature on the activity of glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase in entomopathogenic nematodes (Nematoda: Steinernematidae)."


Murray Fallis Prize

Emmanuelle Bergeron; University of Laval (Supervisors: Dr. L. N. Measures, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, and Dr. J. Huot, University of Laval)

"Biology of Otostrongylus circumlitus, a lungworm or ringed seals in Eastern Arctic Canada."

ASP Prize

Jacqueline Faulkner; McGill University (Supervisors: Dr. L. N. Measures, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, and Dr. F. G. Whoriskey, McGill University)

"Study of the cranial sinus nematode, Stenurus minor, in the harbor porpoise, Phocoena phocoena."


Murray Fallis Prize

Bernadette Ardelli; University of Guelph (Supervisor: Dr. P. T. K. Woo)

"Pathogenicity and protective immunity in Oncorhynchus mykiss and Salvelinus fontinalis infected with Cryptobia salmositica."

ASP Prize

Christiana Verity; University of Guelph (Supervisor: Dr. P. T. K. Woo)

"Characterization of a monoclonal antibody against Cryptobia salmositica: Use of the antibody in an antigen-ELISA for diagnosis of cryptobiosis."


ASP Prize

Carl A. Lowenberger; Institute of Parasitology, McGill University (Supervisor: M. E. Rau)

"Reduced oviposition by Aedes aegypti in waterss containing larvae parasitized by Plagiorchis elegans."


ASP Prize

Elida Campos; Institute of Parasitology, McGill University (Supervisor: R. K. Prichard?)

"Cytochrome C-linked activity as an alternative process for reducing peroxides in the fluke Schistosoma mansoni."


ASP Prize

Sylvain Poirier; Institute of Parasitology, McGill University (Supervisor: M. E. Rau)

"Studies on the intestinal phase of an arctic Trichinella spiralis isolate in the deer mouse (Peromyscus maniculatus)."